rcintheprc

Making a tongue twister | August 3, 2014

During my first month in China, I wrote about my amazement that the phrase “我常常去长城” (wo chang chang qu chang cheng) could actually convey meaning.  At the time, it frankly sounded to me like someone doing a bad impression of what they think Chinese sounds like.  In fact, it means, “I often go to the Great Wall.”

Well, I’ve come up with another phrase.  It’s longer and more preposterous sounding, and it means, “brother, are we gonna be able to catch a cab or not?”

弟弟,到底打得打不到的?

I kid you not, that would be read, “Di di dao di da de da bu dao di?”

You just don’t get sentences like that in English.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

